Home > Ella > Ella is Reading!!!!

Ella is Reading!!!!

October 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

The patience has paid off because Ella is now reading!  It has been about eleven years since I have had the joy of witnessing a child read for the first time.  This is definitely why when I heard about our surprise baby one of my first three thoughts was that I get to teach her to read.  It is absolutely awesome to watch your child realize she can read and I’m glad I got to do it again.

Sometimes I doubted, as I gushed about the phonograms, whether it really is as easy to teach a child how to read as I’d remembered from the first two children.  There was much frustration, as you can glean from the blog, but it was never difficult.  Worth all the frustration to see Ella’s face as she realized she was reading.

I have a lot to share about the process we went through and will take a few blog posts to share it all.  I want to share Ella’s motivation, the books we used, a flashcard application that was helpful and a key strategy that made a huge difference.  I’ll try to get all these blog posts out ASAP.

Coming soon will be a new domain named phonogramuniversity.com.  I’m planning to use this domain to share videos related to the phonograms.  A few videos to lay the groundwork and then video lessons based on the 18 lessons on the Learning to Read CD.  I’ve thought about creating these videos for a long time, but watching Ella learn to read using the phonograms is motivating me to share and get it done.

Gotta love the phonograms!!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment